ADAMH Announces the 2020 Write In Red – Red Ribbon Week Scholarship Contest Winners

The 7th annual Write In Red – Red Ribbon Week Essay Contest conducted during Red Ribbon Week, October 26-30, for all middle and high school students set a new record of 30 entries this year. Students were given a red pen to write an essay for the contest about how to prevent drug, alcohol, and tobacco, abuse. Each participating middle and high school submitted their school’s winning essay to the Paint Valley ADAMH Board. One student from each county was selected to receive a $500 scholarship to any accredited college or university.

We are pleased to announce that the following students were awarded a $100 prize for winning their school’s essay contest and a $500 scholarship for winning the county contest:

  • Cheyenne Carpenter, Miami Trace High School – Fayette County
  • Matalyn Magee, Lynchburg Clay Middle School – Highland County
  • Mason Jacobs, Westfall High School  – Pickaway County
  • Wyatt Grooms, Western High School – Pike County
  • Alexis Bailes, Southeastern High School – Ross County

Paint Valley ADAMH Board Executive Director, Penny Dehner, stated “Each year the students provide absolutely the best essays, touching our hearts and opening our eyes as we realize how the environment impacts their lives. It is so energizing to see our youth take a proactive stand against drug, alcohol and tobacco abuse by sharing their personal stories, doing research into relevant issues and explain their determination to remain drug free.”

The following students were school winners and awarded $100 for the Write In Red Essay Contest:
•           Savannah Rose, Miami Trace Middle School
•           Analese Mitson, Washington CH High School
•           Halle Hamilton, Fairfield  High School
•           Cheyenne Nichole Byler, Fairfield  Middle School
•           Bailey  Parson, Greenfield Middle School
•           Evan Fender, Hillsboro High School
•           Carys Langston, Hillsboro Middle School
•           Jordan Carrico, FRS Connection Middle School
•           Dylan McKenzie, FRS Connection High School
•           Allison Kohus, Lynchburg Clay High School
•           Darby Yeager, White Oak Middle School
•           Marianna Packer, Westfall Middle School
•           Ethan Satterfield, Eastern High School 
•           Leah Rader, Eastern Middle School
•           Taylor Wagner, Piketon High School
•           Jazmine J. Steffen, Piketon Middle School
•           Makenna Smith, Waverly Middle School
•           Macey  Gecowets, Waverly High School
•           Jillian  Stewart, Western Middle School
•           Alyssa Wisecup, Adena High School
•           Keith Yates, Adena Middle School
•           Madison Beard, Chillicothe High School
•           Meghan Gothard, Chillicothe Middle School
•           Hannah Louise Balusik, Huntington High School
•           Rachel Lute, Huntington Middle School

Paint Valley Adamh Board

Leave a Comment